Chapter awardees

In recognition of their outstanding service, exceptional individuals received chapter awards in the winter and spring of 2014.

Chapters honor Members, Fellows, and Masters of ACP who have demonstrated by their example and conduct an abiding commitment to excellence in medical care, education, research, or service to their community, their chapter, and ACP. Awardees have a long history of excellence and peer approval in the specialty of Internal Medicine. In recognition of their outstanding service, these exceptional individuals received chapter awards in the winter and spring 2014.


Anupam Agarway, MD, Laureate Award


Cathie Schumacher, MD, Volunteerism Award

K.C. Kaltenborn, MD, Volunteerism Award

Kikkan Randall, Volunteerism Award


Paul F. Howard, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH, FACP, Laureate Award

Central America

Franklin Espino Herrera, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Abraham Garcia Kutzbach, MD, MACP, Laureate Award


Luz Maria Letelier, MD, FACP, Laureate Award


Verner Codoceo, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Kathleen Heist, MD, Young Physician Award


Matthew J. Burday, DO, FACP, Laureate Award


S. Kalani Brady, MD, MPH, FACP, Laureate Award

Alan D. Tice, MD, FACP, Laureate Award, Posthumous Recognition


Richard F. LeBlond, MD, MACP, Chapter Excellence Award

Peter Densen, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Douglas Vickstrom, MD, FACP, Laureate Award


Colleen Christmas, MD, FACP, Theodore Woodward Award for Medical Education & Research

Louis J. Domenici, MD, Samuel Asper Award for Excellence in Internal Medicine

Leonard S. Feldman, MD, FACP, Outstanding Hospitalist Physician Award

April Fitzgerald, MD, FACP, Governor's Service Award for the Early Career Physician

Melissa R. Schmidt, Philip Mackowiak Student Achievement Award

Frederick M. Wigley, MD, Mary Betty Stevens Award for Clinical Research

New Jersey

William E. Farrer, MD. FACP, Laureate Award

New York

Bradley E. Flansbaum, DO, FACP, Laureate Award

Daniel Jipescu, 2013 ACP Medical Student Peer Recruitment Award

Stephan L. Kamholz, MD, MACP, Distinguished Chapter Leader, Member and Mentor

Marla Koroly, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Paula E. Lester, MD, FACP, Faculty Award

John A. Sellick, Jr., DO, FACP, Laureate Award

Andrew C. Yacht, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

North Carolina

Lee R. Berkowitz, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Gary N. Greenberg, MD, FACP, Volunteerism Award

Rhode Island

Mark E. Braun, MD, FACP, Governor's Award

Robert A. Carnevale, MD, FACP, Irving Addison Beck Laureate Award

Joseph D. Sweeney, MD, FACP, Milton Hamolsky Lifetime Achievement Award


John H. Armstrong, MD. FACP, Laureate Award

Brian J. Boland, MD, FACP, Paul Florentino Volunteerism Award

Marissa C. Galicia-Castillo, MD, FACP, Young Physician Award

Paul E. Marik, MBBCh, MMed., FACP, Academic Teaching Award

Michael S. Murchie, MD, Community Teaching Award

Jerry L. Nadler, MD, FACP, Laureate Award

Rachel R. Waller, MD, FACP, Young Physician Award

U.S. Army

Col. (Ret.) James L Furgerson, MD, FACP, Master Teacher Award

Maj. Joshua Mitchell, MD, COL Robert H. Moser Award

Maj. Jason M. Reese, MC, USA, FACP, Excellence in Operational Medicine Award

Ltc. Todd C. Villines, MD, USA, FACP, William Crosby Superiority in Research Award